Mexico Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  4.3
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.7
 Location  4.9
 Security & Safety  4.7
 Service & Staff  4.4
 Food / Dining  4.4
 Total  4.6

"Rude staff"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Emile V. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   November 27, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Bit pricey, otherwise ok. One thing that really ticked me off though was that they advertise laundry facilities but since there is only one washing machine in the building, also used by the staff to clean the sheets, it's practically impossible to get your washing done. I finally found the thing empty, asked downstairs if they had any detergent, and got a look. After confirming that I was leaving that day, I was told it was broken. What the hell?!

"Excellent experience."

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Marcos P. of El Paso, United States
Reviewed:   November 15, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Try the house specialty: Waffles. The staff is really helpful and firendly

"Casa del Barrio"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Amanda H. of East Tawas, United States
Reviewed:   October 27, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Cute and one of the cleanliest hostels I've stayed in. Excellent location, extremely helpful and friendly staff, and moderately priced- good breakfasts in the restaurant downstairs.

"Casa del Barrio, Monterrey, Mexico"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Edward N. of Sag Harbor, New York, United States
Reviewed:   October 17, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Enjoyed my stay of several nights. The C del B is simple, laid back, pleasantly communal and friendly. Jose Juan, the owner, is endlessly helpful, his staff delightful.

The location couldn't be better, the breakfasts delicious. I'll stay there again for sure.

"hostel review"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   E. Ray C. of Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
Reviewed:   June 6, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I just wanted to make sure people know that this is a hostel, not a bed and breaekfast. There is one air-conditioned room for rent, and fortunately I reserved it. The cost to run the AC is an additional 4USD/night. This is not a negative, as long as you know in advance. Juanjose and Amanda were particularly friendly and helpful. This was my first trip to the interior of Mexico since 1972, so there was some culture shock. I am not yet retired, but am taking the first small steps toward retirement in Mexico. If any members have a solution to the current impasse in which my wife wants to retire in an environment where it never freezes, and I want to retire in an environment where the temperature never rises above 80 degrees Fahrenheit (26 degrees Centigrade) with low humidity, please feel free to communicate with me.

"Superb place to stay when in Monterrey .."

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   NITIN S. of GARLAND, TEXAS, United States
Reviewed:   January 8, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
La Casa Del Barrio is the best place to stay while you are in Monterrey for the reasons that it is located best in Barrio Antiguo which has a large number of bars/pubs. Also since it is in the down town of Monterrey, most of the museums are located at a short distance from La Casa Del Barrio.

Location is good, but what is more important is the staff of La Casa Del Barrio. The staff is very warm-hearted and friendly, ready to help and understanding. At the end of my stay (3 days) I didn't wanted to leave Casa ever and felt as if I was leaving my family. I do not speak Spanish and despite this Casa staff communicated well with me and never let me feel handicapped without Spanish.

I would recommend people who are planning to visit Monterrey to stay in La Casa Del Barrio for it will be a memorable experience.

Special thanks to Natalia and Amanda for making my stay a memorable one :-)

"First days in Monterrey, stay in la casa del barrio!!"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Ulla T. of Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed:   October 6, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Hemispherehostels.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My stay in la casa del barrio was enjoyable and I would recommend you it when coming to Monterrey as an good place to stay. Atmosphere was mexican, rooms were confortable and host was friendly and helpful. Also I met my becoming room mates there :) Enjoy your stay!!!


1 - 7 of 7 reviews




MexicoInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us